Zack Kassian suspended for one game for ‘his actions’ [VIDEO]
Photo from Charlotte Checkers photostream.

The American Hockey League has suspended Canucks prospect Zack Kassian for one game, but are being remarkably vague about the reason why. Their official press release only indicates that the suspension is “a consequence of his actions during a game at Charlotte on Nov. 6.”

When contacted, the Wolves indicated, that as far as they know, Kassian’s suspension is for accidentally running into an official on his way off the ice after taking a second period penalty, which sounds relatively innocuous. While pushing or hitting an official would certainly earn a suspension, players accidentally bump into officials all the time while on the ice. It seems certain that there’s more to the story.

Paul LaTour of the Chicago Tribune floated his theory that the suspension is for throwing his stick in the penalty box, hitting the off-ice official and cutting him.

 

This information certainly makes a suspension for an accidental action make more sense.

It would be a lot easier to know what happened, of course, if we could actually see Kassian’s “actions” and judge for ourselves. Unfortunately, the feed of the game cut away from Kassian before whatever incident might have occurred. However, it does provide some context, and actually rules out both the official word from the Wolves and from Paul LaTour.

The video includes part of the shift leading up to the penalty, which comes as Kassian skates back into the defensive zone to pick up the third skater on a 3-on-2. He lifts the Charlotte Checkers forward’s stick, but then gets his stick up into the hands and gets called for hooking. The replay shows that Kassian appeared to only make contact with his opponent’s stick, making the call a little questionable.

In a close game like the one against the Checkers (the score was 2-1 for the Wolves at the time), you can understand Kassian’s frustration at a borderline call that might have led to the tying goal for the Checkers. He’s clearly upset as he heads to the box, but at no point does he bump into one of the referees or linesmen. And, while he hits the glass with his stick while stepping into the box, he does not throw his stick into the box on his way in, like LaTour indicated.

Instead, it seems likely that he threw the stick while in the box, as it appears he is about to do as the video cuts away. LaTour appears to have taken his information from a Charlotte Checkers fan who was at the game and saw the incident, as he re-tweeted the following tweet during the game.

 

Judging from everything we’ve heard, it appears that Kassian, frustrated with the call, threw his stick, likely at the glass, and had it bounce into the off-ice official’s head. If the stick was thrown hard enough and hit the official blade-first, it could easily cause that type of damage. Considering the suspension was only for one game, it seems that Kassian is being punished for his carelessness rather than any malice.

Either that, or it’s a suspension for having a moustache so sick it should be illegal.

Tags: ,

5 comments

  1. akidd
    November 8, 2012

    yup, it’s definitely for the moustache. something definitely unsportsmanlike about having such a bad-ass moustache only one week into movember. it just makes everyone else feel like shaving. i’d like to see the bruins try messing around now with that moustache out on the ice. didn’t think so.

    VA:F [1.9.16_1159]
    Rating: +7 (from 7 votes)
  2. madwag
    November 8, 2012

    see backhand shelf for some healthy moustaches.

    VA:F [1.9.16_1159]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Gimmic
    November 8, 2012

    1 game suspension for being Zack Kassian.

    That was, by far, the worst officiating I’ve ever seen. Games 1 and 2 w/ the Checkers was brutal – different officials for each game. All of those nerds should be suspended.

    VA:F [1.9.16_1159]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Colby
    November 11, 2012

    Truculence!

    VA:F [1.9.16_1159]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. shoes
    November 11, 2012

    If Kassian had “thrown his stick” and cut an official….we would be seeing much more than a 1 game suspension. Methinks “Lisa” exaggerated. Also the league would have no trouble telling us the reason. What probably happened is that he tossed his stick….AND if could have cut an official, AND it could have caused an electrical short in the box, which could have led to a fire, which could have led to ……..well I think we can see why it was a 1 game suspension.

    VA:F [1.9.16_1159]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)